The Borough is governed by a Mayor and Borough Council elected by voters. The Mayor is elected for a four year term. The duties include presiding at meetings of governing body, signing contracts, and appointing various Borough officials and members of boards and committees subject to Council confirmation. The Mayor votes in the event there is a tie. 

There are six members of the Borough Council who are elected at large to serve staggered three year terms of office. The Council approves the annual budget, adopts ordinances and resolutions and determines policy. The council members serve as a chair of various committees and as members of assigned committees.