Departments, Boards, and Committees
Building Department
Health & Public Safety
Land Use Boards
Planning Board
Public Works
Zoning Board
Zoning Board


September 21st, 2020 - 7:30 PM


1.      Roll Call                                      

2.      Pledge of Allegiance

3.      Review and Approval of Zoning Board Minutes of   

4.      Correspondence :                                                                  

  1. Chairman describes Zoning Board procedures as necessary

  2. Swearing in of Borough Professionals if applicable.  

  3. No new cases will be stared after 10:30 p.m. At about 10:30 p.m. the Chair will look for an appropriate break to postpone the remainder to the next meeting. Any case not heard will be carried over to the next meeting.

  4. Applications:




    Memorialization of Resolutions:


    CAL# 846-19                     Diaz / Holguin

    Block 117, Lot 3                 85 Beverly Rd.    

    Request to construct a deck that does not comply with the Borough Codes Bulk Requirements in the R-3 Zone.



Old Business:

New Business :

Open to Public :

Adjournment .


       The order of applications may be modified by the Chairperson at their discretion.

       Zoning Board of Adjustment meetings are held on the third Monday of every month except as otherwise noted.

*Chairman Only


Instructions to Join the Zoom Meeting


Below is the information to join the Zoom meeting  for the Monday, July 20th,  Oradell Zoning Board meeting at 7:30PM

Please install the Zoom App onto your device.

Once installed on device, follow the directions on Zoom and install the information below to join the meeting.

To Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 882 5352 3913

Passcode: 851822

One tap mobile
+19292056099,,83203582447#,,,,0#,,637786# US (New York)
+13017158592,,83203582447#,,,,0#,,637786# US (Germantown)

Dial by your location
        +1 929 205 6099 US (New York)
        +1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)
        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
        +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)
        +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)
        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
Meeting ID: 832 0358 2447
Password: 637786
Find your local number:

Stephen A. Depken
Construction Official / Zoning Officer
(201) 261-8005



The Zoning Board of Adjustment's responsibilities pick up where the Planning Board's work leaves off. The Zoning Board is the board of "non-permitted uses." It deals with the issuance of variances, which is, essentially, permission to not comply with the Borough's zoning ordinances.

The Zoning Board sits as a quasi-judicial Board. Its purpose is to provide relief from zoning requirements that cannot be satisfied due to the specific nature of the property in question, and to approve non-permitted uses of a property by granting a Use Variance. The successful granting of a Use Variance is not based on policy, but on the ability of an applicant to prove his or her case. The Zoning Board must make decisions much as a judge does in court.

An applicant is never entitled to a variance. Rather, an applicant must meet specific criteria contained in the Municipal Land Use Law by satisfying certain legal standards of proof. The burden is on the applicant to show that he or she is entitled to the specific relief requested. Depending on the type of variance requested, the applicant will need to prove special reasons, a balancing of the benefits, hardship, the negative criteria, etc. This must all be based on the nature of the property in question and not on a personal hardship.

The Zoning Board of Adjustment consists of seven regular members and two alternate members. No member may hold any elective office or other position under the municipality. No member may act on any matter in which he or she has, either directly or indirectly, any personal or financial interest.

The Zoning Board typically meets on the third Monday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Mayor and Council Chambers at Borough Hall. Exceptions for 2016 are meetings held on Wednesday, January 20, 2016 and Wednesday, February 17, 2016. Meetings are open to the public or can be viewed on OPTV .


Zoning Board Members

  Name Position
  Marvin Michelman Chairman
  Emily Cobb Vice-Chairman
  Katherine McGrinder Secretary
  Val McHale Member  
  Ray Degheri Member
  Warren Barrows Member

Chris Santaniello



Jeanette Odynski

1st Alternate

Kevin Bartlett

2nd Alternate


More Information
Click below for additional Zoning Board information.